Waste not, want more

No variations on a theme.

Freecycle Rocks!

Obsessive tendencies unite

Admittedly, I’m cheap. But more than being cheap, I have huge waste guilt: a desire to salvage, repurpose, recycle and – even better – freecycle everything I can. I’m a firm believer in the notion that the last thing the world needs is more crap. So why not use the crap that already exists? The problem is, I also suffer from laziness. This has in recent years meant that my thrift store shopping has really flagged. I don’t attend garage sales at 6am on Saturday mornings or make quilts out of scrap fabric. That’s why I’ve decided that freecycle is the way for me. I get an email a day listing all of the joyous free stuff people no longer need. No dump piles or leaving useless stuff with poor thrift stores. On the occasions that I have listed an item, I get 12-15 emails of interest. I kept a 3/4 full bottle of ammonia for 3 years before it occurred to me to post it and a bunch of other items. Those closet cloggers were gone in a day. People who actually wanted the stuff took it. An open bottle of ammonia! Catnip. A copper kettle. It was absolutely liberating!

The only downside? In Victoria, freecycle is a big deal. It’s almost impossible to be the first to claim the big scores: filing cabinets, large houseplants, bbqs, and other wonders. There are so many people in the network. It’s a price I’m willing to pay.

Some stuff exchanged to date:

My first giveaway

Soon required painting supplies

Canning Jars!

Just kidding. Cat acquired elsewhere.

You can sign up to join the group in your community. Search at http://www.freecycle.org/

May 14, 2010 - Posted by | Waste

6 Comments »

  1. I love this! I’m going to check it out in Revelstoke, but I feel sadly it’s more of a city thing. Having said that, I’m up this morning to garage sale at 8am. This works well with a baby.

    Comment by Cheyenne | May 15, 2010 | Reply

  2. I need to do this so I can off-load some of my crap… I mean things that no longer serve me. I have this giant pile of stuff ‘waiting to be donated’, but it would be so much easier if I could just post them and have somebody who wants them come pick them up! (From my balcony. While I am not even home.)

    Comment by Dana | May 15, 2010 | Reply

    • Getting people to grab stuff when you’re not home is the best part. And the real keeners will take additional unlisted stuff you leave out – good luck!

      Comment by roseflux | May 16, 2010 | Reply

  3. Nice one! I wonder if there is something around these parts. cheese.

    Comment by Katie Chipman | May 18, 2010 | Reply

  4. […] 22, 2010 I’ve blogged a couple of times about the joys of Freecycle (like here and here). There are of course trials as well. Not shockingly, Usedvictoria isn’t much […]

    Pingback by The Trials of Usedvictoria « Waste not, want more | December 22, 2010 | Reply

  5. […] my inner burn to recycle, reuse, avoid buying, and decrease the flow of stuff to the place that stuff goes to die, it may […]

    Pingback by The Wedding Dress that Keeps on Giving « Waste not, want more | November 26, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

