Waste not, want more

No variations on a theme.

Purchasing Mattresses: the devil you don’t know

It felt like a waste of a Saturday, but maybe in the end I will thank myself for the time spent. Or maybe I should get drunk and forget it ever happened.

I have been holding out on buying a new mattress – ok, a first mattress (non-futon) for some time after a bed bug incident that was a bit hard to shake. My thinking was that I couldn’t trust the building again, so until I was buying a place (i.e. committing), I wouldn’t get a real mattress. This is of course irrational. Bed bugs can  just as easily be introduced into a condo building as they can be into a rental, moving between units and so forth. I have no better explanation to offer.

Anyway, the time has come. I knew I was looking for a mattress only. I knew the actual platform bed frame I wanted* but needed to find the right mattress. Now I understand that I hate the sales pitch, and have low tolerance for that sales-y-ness, but this was enough to give me a headache. Prices were being slashed like it was a Malaysian street sale. A memory foam mattress listed at $2,500 quickly went to $1,380 and then $1,150. I desperately wanted a memory foam mattress but had heard that anything under $2,000 was not worth your money (goes hard and yucky and much worse than a spring mattress in a short time). Now would a mattress that started over $2,000 and ended under that amount be consider crap? So, thinking myself smart, I engaged El Internet in some research only to find infommercials and American outlet store websites without product specifications or anything I would deem INFORMATION. Blegh. I got cranky.

Anyway, keeping in mind the old addage that if it seems to good to be true, it probably is, I went with a different store and a coil mattress. Basically it came down to this: The man in the second store didn’t even try to pretend he wasn’t telling me what I wanted to hear. He basically admitted that he told me delivery was free so that I’d buy a mattress, even though it wasn’t free, then didn’t charge me for delivery in recognition of his previous pitch, which he’d forgotten. Same with some other um – what would you call them – oh yeah, numbers.

The up side? A mattress has been purchased. It didn’t break the bank (hopefully it doesn’t break the back). It will be delivered after moving day. It will be slept on. Pictures to follow.

Consider this an open invitation to share your mattress heaven or hell.

*Victoria has a fantastic (well, I know nothing about furniture, but it seems fantastic to me) furniture store called Woodpecker Furniture and Futons). They have a ton of products hand-made from BC wood, custom made in some cases, stain choices and all that jazz.

May 17, 2010 - Posted by | Consumption, Irritated, Waste

4 Comments »

  1. We ended up with a fancy mattress, but I feel like I won’t totally appreciate it until a certain baby stops windmilling himself around all night long.

    Definitely post pictures! Please.

    Comment by Cheyenne | May 17, 2010 | Reply

  2. So does this mean you are moving?! To a place OF YOUR OWN??

    I have had my same mattress for way longer than I care to admit (or is probably healthy). One day I will commit to a new one, but who am I kidding? The day is probably VERY FAR AWAY still.

    Comment by Dana | May 18, 2010 | Reply

  3. Our bed cost an arm and leg, I DO NOT regret the purchase one bit, as I’ve slept in some pretty high end hotels and my bed at home was better! 🙂

    Happy for your mattress growing up– this is big!

    Comment by Katie Chipman | May 18, 2010 | Reply

  4. […] combat this and the constant pain in my lower back (come on, mattress!) I’ve finally allowed myself the luxury of a 4-month yoga membership. This is insanely […]

    Pingback by All of these things fit together, I promise « Waste not, want more | May 26, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

