Waste not, want more

No variations on a theme.

Grad School: Deep and Delicious

Imagine you get home late from work/school/whatever. You and your partner blather on about your days reporting what you think is the most salient news. After discussing dishes, cute cat tricks and other silly items, he tells you that he was accepted to the grad school program he’s been hoping for. He waits another almost 24 hours to tell you that there’s a celebration McCain Deep and Delicious chocolate cake in the freezer with a huge chunk taken out of it (once he just can`t take the goofiness of his secret – and the secret of his goofiness – any longer). A WHOLE cake. And not a good one, at that. I`m fairly sure a friend of mine was allergic to them when we were kids – and I don`t mean chocolate cakes generally, I mean only some whacked-out ingredient in the D&D.

My questions are these:

  1. Who likes those cakes?
  2. Why do those cakes still exist? – I thought they were a relic of the 80s
  3. WHO delays the big announcement like that?

Some people, okay many people, but one in particular, would say that this is a pathetic, bass-ackwards way of praising or, even worse (unless you`re 8), bragging about your partner`s achievements instead of coming right out and saying it. Fair enough. But, it`s hypothetical – see?

AMENDMENT: Only after writing this do I discover that the hypothetical person bought the cake before having any reason to celebrate, which as far as I’m concerned just makes it worse

May 20, 2010 - Posted by | Consumption, Hypotheticals

4 Comments »

  1. YAH!!!! More school!!! 🙂

    As for cake funny you mention it, it was the hot topic of another celebration around these parts (we weren’t apart of just knowledge of Deep and Delish)… They must be coming back.
    Oh and if I had a choice I would of ate only those for bday cakes.. weird eh.. I think it was the temp I enjoyed more than the cake.

    xoxo.
    YAH!!!
    ps. The delay I bet was his own way of seeing if he could keep a secret… 24 hours… not bad.

    Comment by Katie Chipman | May 20, 2010 | Reply

  2. D & D cakes are dirty and shameful, but I think the reason why certain, hypothetical people (my own dear husband NOT included of course, hint hint) is because they are kept in the freezer. I think the coldness is what is attractive about the cakes. That, and they are an easy, quick, and relatively inexpensive way to get cake FAST. (Not even Betty Crocker or Duncan Hines can offer you a ready-made cake at 7-11 when you REALLY NEED CAKE). I’m just guessing on all of this, obviously. No personal experience here whatsoever.

    But CONGRATULATIONS to a hypothetical partner for getting into grad school. And too funny that it took so long for the secret to come out! 🙂 It reminds me of when I had to tell our in-laws we got married. I even told them about getting sand caught in my shoes before I was like “ohandbythewaywegotmarriedohmygodgoodbye!!” Excellent news!

    Comment by Dana | May 21, 2010 | Reply

  3. That settles it! I’ll credit the cold…

    Comment by roseflux | May 21, 2010 | Reply

  4. […] second and third most popular posts, are Grad School: Deep and Delicious and A Considerate Person’s Guide to Riding the Bus, or Don’t be an Ass, respectively. The first […]

    Pingback by 7 Ways to Leave Your Lover Wondering What You’ve Been Doing with Your Time « Waste not, want more | January 5, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

