Waste not, want more

No variations on a theme.

All of these things fit together, I promise

A couple of weeks of school seems to have sucked up any energy available for even my drive-by creativity: blogging. Unlike others, I don’t actually feel as though school encourages only the non-creative aspects of my brain. I do use those for trying to understand information, imagine the other side of an issue, and coming up with unique solutions. But all that thinking drains my energy something fierce.

To combat this and the constant pain in my lower back (come on, mattress!) I’ve finally allowed myself the luxury of a 4-month yoga membership. This is insanely exciting for me; I’m not using the word luxury lightly. Yoga has always felt like a luxury to me, and given that people living on a couple of dollars a day probably don’t spend their money on fitness, I don’t think I’m too far off. But to go more than once a week feels positively luscious (and a touch guilt-inducing). And not because of the money spent. The time to focus on myself and my body and the voice of the instructor without (in theory) sorting out my day, planning dinner, making mental lists, or imagining conversations is a gift to me from me.

The upsetting part of my yoga re-uptake is that I’ve realized what a sad state of affairs my body is in. Cycling has kept me from wheezing my way up one flight of stairs but my core is weak (oh, hello back pain!) and I’m inflexible. Things that I could do before with some ease are either challenging or pushing it. Things I could barely do before are in a definite no-go zone for now. On the upside, the couple of classes I have attended seem to have already had a positive impact on my back AND I still love it even if I feel a little like I’m sweating to the oldies when everyone else is falling asleep:

May 26, 2010 - Posted by | Bad TV References, Consumption, Cycling, Excessive organization

6 Comments »

  1. I think trampoline exercise if the antidote to any exercise that makes you feel old. Especially drunken trampoline jumping. Do they have that class on the Island?

    Comment by Cheyenne | May 26, 2010 | Reply

  2. Ooommmmmmmm…… šŸ™‚

    Comment by Katie Chipman | May 26, 2010 | Reply

  3. Where do you go? I’m still on the fence about yoga, but maybe I haven’t been to a good class before… (in all of my 3 yoga class experiences).

    Comment by Dana | May 26, 2010 | Reply

    • Definitely not for everybody. I go to XX, which so far seems really good but I’ve never actually been a studio member before. I love Hatha which means I like spending a long time “properly” in poses feeling the stretch/strengthening before moving on. Some people find it painful and prefer flow-type classes where they feel more active. Those are nice too but I don’t find them as therapeutic. Then there’s other stuff too I know less about. My point is, to try to find something you like, you may want to think about those things I mentioned. They have short descriptions of their classes also. Nebulous, I know.

      Comment by roseflux | May 27, 2010 | Reply

      • I guess anything but Bikram would be good to try, no?

        Comment by Dana | May 27, 2010

      • Yes, absolutely, as long as my description to date doesn’t give you a hate-on.

        Comment by roseflux | May 27, 2010


Leave a Reply

