Waste not, want more

No variations on a theme.

Yet another list of things: Portuguese

I don’t actually know much about being Portuguese. I’ve been to Portugal three times, once at 18 months when my note-taking skills weren’t quite as strong. My parents are/were Portuguese and their small social circle in my hometown was too. Any Portuguese-Canadian that I’ve known at all well comes from one tiny, and relatively poor, island, with the exception of a few people on my mom’s side. I recognize I haven’t taken the best sample. This is part of the reason that I struggle in identifying with my Portuguese self. On one hand, I strongly do, on the other hand, I feel like a big poser. All that aside, I thought it would be interesting to consider what I know of as Portuguese-ness. In no way do I think that this is what Portuguese-ness actually is, not that you could ever explain that anyway. There should probably be a lot to say about church, but I can’t quite wrap my head around that.

  • sandwiches are actually called “sandweeshas”
  • self-sacrifice is the highest form of enlightenment, no matter what anybody tells you about balance and healthy lifestyles, especially for women
  • yelling is not yelling, it’s “just talking”
  • tomatoes grow in backyards only, otherwise you get them from jars in the wine room
  • women should wear cork sandals in the house – always
  • be surrounded by water but don’t learn how to swim, unless you’re a man
  • men can have emotions, lots of ’em
  • eating fish is good, eating bacalau (salt cod) is better, eating bacalhau often is best
  • normal people have back problems, big ones. I attribute this to lifting cows on the above mentioned island though I’m told that this is not quite accurate.
  • grandparents don’t smile in pictures. Advertisements that show otherwise are seriously misleading.
  • having your 8-year-old cut up meat and stuff sausage is important, having them eat it raw is ok too
  • when people come to visit, drive at least 800km a day in a caravan of cars stopping quickly for pictures and sandweeshas
  • the growing, making and taking of food is an experience worth savouring

Até logo!

June 8, 2010 - Posted by | Childhood Complaints, Hypotheticals, Portuguese-ness?

1 Comment »

  1. I wouldn’t have you any other way.. especially Mark’s special. MMM… Man oh man I think I need to make Soph and I one of those tomorrow for lunch 🙂

    Comment by Katie Chipman | June 8, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

