Waste not, want more

No variations on a theme.

Words (and other things resembling words) that warm my cockles: 2

(As a lover of words, phrases, lyrics, plays on words and so on, and someone seeking ways to better celebrate the little things, I’ve decided to develop a series dedicated especially to these linguistic trinkets.)

Supercallifragilisticexpialidocious

Disclaimer: I only ever said that the words would warm MY heart.

This word, or whatever you’d like to call it, from the 1964 Disney wonder Mary Poppins was something that brought wonder to my heart for numerous childhood years. To me this movie was the pinnacle of childhood imagination. Laughing on the ceiling, a suffragette mother, a firm but fantastically fun nanny that hangs out with the kindest street performer/chimney sweep/artist, dances in chalk pictures, and pulls lamps out of carpet bags, and a father who shuns his corporate job for the job of flying a kite with his kids … explain to me what could be better? I also loved ridiculous songs and words, hence my adoration for Supercallifragilisticexpialidocious, or “something to say when you have nothing to say”. Most redeeming of all however, is when Mr. George Banks, father, banker, dutiful employee, is in the process of getting sacked for his son having caused the bank system of England to collapse (no pressure, kid) and he cries out “Supercallifragilisticexpialidocious” like it’s the best thing on earth. Talk about casting off the shackles! Admittedly, it still irritates me that Mary Poppins claims to have said it backwards (an all out lie!) when in fact what she said was “docious-ali-expi-istic-fragil-cali-rupus”. I still have my dork morals after all.

Now for some upper class privileged white “lady” power!:


June 10, 2010 - Posted by | Bad TV References, Childhood Complaints, Words that warm

3 Comments »

  1. I was wondering when this one was going to pop up.
    🙂

    Comment by Katie Chipman | June 14, 2010 | Reply

  2. I’m with you on the ‘rhythm’ one– not so much on this word. This word makes my heart frosty, or at least snarly. Too long!!

    Comment by Dana | June 15, 2010 | Reply

  3. This one wasn’t likely to get much love 🙂

    Comment by roseflux | June 16, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

