Waste not, want more

No variations on a theme.

Bless the Commute!

I’ve been admittedly cranky lately (and I won’t be posting regularly for another month or so still 😦 ). Despite orca sightings and a new home, an ill-timed 30-hour trip, a massive cold, a move and an unexpectedly bad semester have all culminated in a stinking Rose. Pee-yew.

I don't smell as good as garlic though!

But I had a moment of positivity today so I thought I should report. Aside from the other small and large pleasures of the new home, I am pleased to announce that I must now go through only 2 bad intersections and all of five lights in just 20 minutes! I feel like I’ve been given the gift of time and relaxation. I love my blessed James Bay and will continue to scoff when people talk about its “inaccessibility” especially in the summer but I will admit that it makes the commute to UVic a little painful, especially for a lightweight like me. I will take 20 minutes – gladly. It still allows me some exercise, some time outside when I’m otherwise feeling chained to my desk and the joy of cruising the neighbourhood without having to ride through downtown or feeling quite as much pressure to get home fast.

Hi, I have a sugar problem.

Incapable of expressing my appreciation – I’m like a kid in a candy shop!

July 5, 2010 - Posted by | Cycling, Irritated |

4 Comments »

  1. I love you. Be safe. and BREATHE!

    ps. Loved the dress you wore to Jeanie’s wedding.

    Comment by Katie Chipman | July 6, 2010 | Reply

  2. Way to report on your beacon of positivity! I won’t mind reading about crankiness, either– just for the record.

    Looking forward to seeing your new place, even if it’s just virtually until we can tear ourselves away from the harbour!

    Comment by Dana | July 6, 2010 | Reply

    • Thanks for being willing to put up with crankiness! I miswrote, what I meant was that I was breaking my I’m buried in homework writing hiatus because I was just to excited about the ride.

      Pics will arrive – eventually! As will you – eventually!

      Comment by roseflux | July 7, 2010 | Reply

  3. […] that commute is still pretty fun […]

    Pingback by On an appreciation kick « Waste not, want more | July 9, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

