Waste not, want more

No variations on a theme.

Damien the Dishwasher

I’ve never lived with a dishwasher before even as a kid, unless you count the human kind. I’m not a huge proponent, given all the water usage. I imagine it’s something I’ll appreciate when family comes to visit and so forth. But most of the time, I’d rather just do the dishes myself. Unfortunately, other hypothetical people don’t agree.

My problems? you may wonder…yet another bulleted list:

  • I don’t have that many dishes, so it’s hard to actually fill a load before needing what’s in there again
  • I use a ton of containers that are too light to wash in the dishwasher and tend to pool water even when they don’t flip over like a pool of yuckiness so I have constant arguments with myself over what to wash by hand and what to load, not loading them makes it even harder to fill and you can see how this can go on…
  • water spots
  • the noise. That sounds cranky, but the noise makes me feel guilty about the excess water consumption
  • the space restrictions. I use more bowl-like things than flat-like things so it’s hard to fill the bottom rack
  • I have an obsessive master-packer problem that mostly doesn’t interfere with my life. Suitcases, boxes and dishracks have all been a source of joy in the past. However, finding the “best way” to fit things together becomes more like a penitence when I fight daily with the dishwasher over its inflexible hold over me.

Crown Jewel of Master Packing/Stacking

For those who think that water worries are unwarranted, I’m feeling impatient today so I’ll just say you’re wrong:

“From an ecological perspective, we have no water to spare. Canada has 7% of the world’s land mass and about 6.5% of the world’s renewable supply of water – meaning we have just about enough water to meet the ecological needs of our land mass (Institute for Research on Public Policy, Canada’s Water Challenges). To complicate matters, the renewable supply of water is expected to decrease with climate change (Natural Resources Canada, Canada’s Water Budget).” http://www.flowcanada.org/security/water-matters/environment

July 10, 2010 - Posted by | Excessive organization, Hypotheticals, Irritated, Waste |

5 Comments »

  1. Okay, my statements about overuse of water still stand but further research has led to the realization that dishwashers are much more efficient than I thought: http://1greengeneration.elementsintime.com/?p=314. I can eat crow with the best of them.

    Comment by Rose | July 10, 2010 | Reply

  2. I’m 100% against dishwashers. If I were an athlete, I would say that I’m 110% against dishwashers. They’re definitely more work than washing by hand.

    Might I suggest using it as storage instead of washing? That way if you are tempted to put in a dirty plate, you’ll be forced to remove your collection of windmill figures first. Or instead of collectibles, you could just store pots and pans.

    Comment by Cheyenne | July 11, 2010 | Reply

  3. I will admit it.

    I use a dishwasher with glee and I’ll live with the guilt. I know awful thing to say, but I could kill someone over doing dishes. I despise.

    You’d be happy to know I hang most of my jeans, unmentionables, sweaters/hoodies… etc, so at least I’m doing something in some form of favor.

    Comment by Katie Chipman | July 17, 2010 | Reply

  4. I haven’t had a dishwasher in FOREVER but I appreciate getting to use them so much when the opportunity comes up. (The only times I use a dishwasher are after dinners with my extended (20+ people) family, all of whom expect ME to clean up after them. Go, dishwashers!!)

    Comment by Dana | July 19, 2010 | Reply

  5. Rose you seriously need to get over your guilt with the dishwasher. It will come in handy, especially when you’ve just finished off a greasy McCain Deep and Delicious cake…

    Comment by Chris and Di | August 3, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

