Waste not, want more

No variations on a theme.

Self-domestication

Oh, how I have been craving this time. I’m thoroughly enjoying it, too!

After an unexpected busy semester at school and feeling like summer happened without my usual supervision, I have settled nicely into my two and a half weeks off. The hike to a deep, dark place accomplished, I’ve moved on to trying to get this new apartment in some sort of order. I mourned being unable to sort through my boxes of junk and purge as needed before the move. Besides hating moving more boxes than necessary, I love and usually spend a month on the opportunity that moving provides for cleansing the closet, and my cluttered heart. I swear, I can feel clutter in my heart.

2 days of this process has left me elated. I’ve emptied/recycled about 15 boxes/tubs, from elementary school assignments to candles and a shower curtain, much of which is being freecycled. I learned that most of my bulk exists in the form of education-related materials. Other people have trophies and toys, I have paper and a few books. Rather I had them, with the exception of a few samples for the potential curiosity of any future progeny (I always wished my parents had stuff like that I could look at) and all of my papers, which I just can’t part with as I’m kind of possess-y over intellectual property. With reckless abandon I’ve finally figured out how to deal with that random stuff from childhood that I just can’t get rid of. I get 1 box that might as well be labelled “nostalgia” (to me nostalgia is purple) composed mostly of childhood drawings and writings, it also includes a pair of my aunt’s platform shoes which technically fit but will never be worn. Now, I’m almost ready to paint the bedrooms at least. I may even accomplish that this week, though probably not.

But first, I must explain my excitement over my pièce de moving and organizing résistance, my tv cabinet turned bookshelf. I’ve been dying for an awesome bookshelf, but guilting over being broke and having other furniture that was underutilized, like the cabinet (the TV, VCR, and DVD player were all disposed of in the move). My experiment of using the cabinet as a clothes dresser failed miserably but I was determined to keep this thing that I love. I knew I could make it work if I could just find a free-standing shelf that fit into it. After a number of attempts to find one, I realized I was going to have to make it myself.

I can now say that I know how to go to a hardware store, explain what I want and have them explain it back to me like a tool (because that’s how dumb I am, not because they were being belittling), get the wood cut, and drive off with it in my car. $14, 5 pieces of wood, 8 nails and 300 hammer swings later, I had exactly what I needed + a lovely pine smell.

After a couple of rearrangings, I managed to get all of our books in and am very pleased with the results. I feel particularly Masterpiece Theatre when I swing it around to look at something in the back.

Innocuous furniture supporting uber-dated stereo. (Aside: As I was taking this picture the radio broadcaster I was listening to discussed the green book, Late Nights on Air by Elizabeth Hay).

Front - Books!

Back - Slightly messier books

The swing-away effect

August 30, 2010 - Posted by | Books, Childhood Complaints, Consumption, Excessive organization | ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

