Waste not, want more

No variations on a theme.

Growing up or Growing ridiculous?

Almost immediately following my first time getting wood cut adventure, I’ve stumbled on another “adventure”. I washed, prepped and painted a room of the house entirely on my own. Well, physically on my own, I had some other help from Katie (thanks!) and the friendly (not so friendly) neighbourhood paint store dude.

I grew up in a white-walled house. Though some people don’t mind it so much. It has driven me crazy for quite some time. 11 years of rentals without the ability to paint has not improved my love for the white wall. I should also note that others would not call this white but rather eggshell or ivory orjersey cream or some nonsense that is close enough to white to be completely uninteresting to me when it has no contrast. This place is no different and it’s been giving me whitemares. Exhibits A and B:

Sorry, white lovers. Between that and the fact that I wasn’t allowed to do crazy things with my room the way some people were, this room altering business was really quite exciting for me. With gusto, and only a little trepidation, I did one of those t.v. commercial “x”s with my brush on the wall. It.     was.     liberating. I haven’t had that feeling since the first year of university, when I threw “taboo” items all over my room and didn’t worry about who found them. It honestly felt like teenage rebellion without those pesky unsafe consequences though I’ll still have to listen to what my mom has to say when she comes to visit. Clearly, I need to get out more or grow up.

Anyway, most would probably die of embarrassment if they painted a guest room orange, real orange I mean, but I am okay with that. Sorry, “resale value”? what?

September 4, 2010 - Posted by | Childhood Complaints, Consumption | ,

5 Comments »

  1. It looks fantastic! More pictures of your place, please?

    Comment by CheyenneVyvyan | September 4, 2010 | Reply

  2. I love it. White walls are the bane of my still-renting existence. Can’t wait to go nuts at the paint store one day in the future! 🙂

    Comment by Dana | September 5, 2010 | Reply

  3. It’s a good solid tangerine! OH Rose I’m so proud of you. And it looks suited! NOW come baby time you might want to tone it down or the babe WILL NEVER sleep. BUT as for guests– Who needs sleep anyway? 🙂
    xo.

    Comment by Katie Chipman | September 5, 2010 | Reply

    • I’ll buy a crib shade – I’m not changing it!

      Comment by Rose | September 6, 2010 | Reply

  4. […] the kitchen disappointment – it’s fine, but I’m not loving it like I love the creamsicle – I started on the bedroom. Yup, I’ve been waiting a long time for this moment. For […]

    Pingback by The Rotten Fruits of my Labour « Waste not, want more | December 22, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

