Waste not, want more

No variations on a theme.

That’s What I Get

After arguing with myself and others about ordering personal photo Christmas cards, finding some options of where to order, sorting through possibilities, making phone calls and pouting, I had finally settled on what I was going to do.

Then what?

I realized that I have NO acceptable pictures to use for a card. One would think that I spent the year tied to a computer – oh wait – that’s why my back hurts. Right. To be fair though, I did in fact enjoy a trip to San Juan island, three weddings, a big hike and a bunch of camping. But still no pictures.

Reasons for this?

A. I hate asking people to take a picture of hypothetical individuals and myself. It’s an interruption. It bugs me. I often don’t like the photo. I’m  not confident they won’t dash may camera to the ground in an act of defiance.

B. I don’t have patience for timed shots either. Particularly when I am in the middle of my fun-having. This is me being unable to find a happy medium between being stuck behind my camera and being footloose and fancy free. Nicely done, Rose. Either I forgot to savour my moments, or I savoured to the point of forgetting I may want some evidence later, too.

C. I did less than  usual this year and felt rushed when doing it. I knew it was coming, I knew it while it was happening, and I knew it afterwards too, but I remain saddened.

D. I forgot there are good reasons for taking pictures of people – together. Myself and others may enjoy viewing them occasionally, such as during the holiday season.

Lesson learned. See for yourself:

Yummy moustache and swan-neck attempt

Well, we're both technically in the picture

Merry Christmas, I look stoned

We're the orange jacket sunglasses couple, don't you want to be just like us?

 

Our cat is cute, but you don't care

November 14, 2010 - Posted by | Doing it the hard way, Hypotheticals, Irritated | ,

3 Comments »

  1. OH geez— Just pick one! I won’t lie we went out to specifically get a shot, though this region hasn’t been graced with the 10 feet of snow I thought it would have by now, it’s not snowy. DAMN YOU Mother nature. But all in all— there are 3.5 of us in the photos, and we are all looking in the same direction. 🙂

    Maybe you need to just suck it up and start timing.
    Cheeses.

    Comment by Katie Chipman | November 15, 2010 | Reply

  2. Out of the ones you displayed, the orange jacket and sunglasses one is my favourite. It’s like a modern, outdoorsy take on the matching Christmas sweaters photo! 🙂

    I agree with Katie, though– you might have to just start using the timer and posing specifically with the Christmas card in mind. Good luck!

    Comment by Dana | November 16, 2010 | Reply

  3. I guess so, if I’m not too late. And Kate, you would NEVER use any of the above – I just can’t pick one of those horrid things.

    Comment by Rose | November 17, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

