Waste not, want more

No variations on a theme.

Words (and other things resembling words) that warm my cockles: #7

(As a lover of words, phrases, lyrics, plays on words and so on, and someone seeking ways to better celebrate the little things, I’ve decided to develop a series dedicated especially to these linguistic trinkets.)

nuzzle

I love this one, especially at this cozy-seeking time of year. It’s got the fun of the “double-zed l” (so well-known), which makes it feel like a comic book BLAM! and the connotation of love and snuggling. I also picture lots of wool and blankets.

The cat’s been diggin’ the nuzzilng lately. She lost another layer of chicken-ness and will now sprawl out on your lap and nuzzle away, even if you fidget.

Now to get this word out of my mind – it’s been worse than a bad song lately.

November 20, 2010 - Posted by | Wild Animals, Words that warm

4 Comments »

  1. Aw Rose, keep that nuzzle all snuggled up in your head. (I think snuggle is my version of your nuzzle… what is lacks in double zedness it makes up for with snug.)

    Comment by Theresa | November 28, 2010 | Reply

  2. I was thinking about other words that I like and I think that beligerence is up there. Also triste. And balloon.

    Now I’m picturing them in yuppy word art that goes on a wall. How would you like “Beligerence” written in cursive above your stove?

    Comment by Theresa | November 30, 2010 | Reply

    • I can’t say I’d find it comforting. Intelligentsia maybe.

      Comment by Rose | December 2, 2010 | Reply

  3. […] been some time since I’ve done a Words that Warm post, 10 months in fact. In part, I was boring myself; in part, I had run out of words that I felt […]

    Pingback by Words (and other things resembling words) that warm my cockles: #8 « Waste not, want more | September 26, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

