Waste not, want more

No variations on a theme.

Vindication for Foot Sufferers Everywhere – or maybe just me

I blogged some time ago about my treacherous feet. I followed that up with a blog about the impact of my treacherous feet on physical activity goals, particularly hiking. Between the hiking trauma and finding myself newly added to a health plan I decided that it was high time I seek out custom orthotics, sexy vixens that they are, or at least learn whether orthotics would in fact be helpful.

I am one of those sick people that needs constant affirmation she is not a total wiener; anything that helps to explain away my lack of athleticism, for example, is welcome. The fact that I have come to believe that I cannot hike for two days just because my feet hurt, has not exactly sat well with me. What if I just had a low tolerance for pain and other people would not equate what I felt with banging bone against rocks with every step?

So I ventured forth, explaining my various gripes to the orthotic dude. I got emotional (nice one) relating the “culminating incident” of the hike. Then he watched me walk and looked at the culprits, my poor, deformed feet. Much to my surprise, he stated that orthotics would probably do a lot for my pain (inward gasp). He said that my small feet (I knew it, the jerks) and overly flexible (i.e. weak) ankles were forcing my mid foot to do all the work. Further, because of some bone structure that I won’t attempt to explain, but also related to the smallness, my toes have to work really hard to touch the ground, particularly #5 which unfortunately almost never reaches its goal (I knew I could blame something on that damn rogue toe). He could see why I would experience severe pain (thank GOODNESS I’m not just a wimp – insert ass-backwards ego stroke here).

The hope: my orthotics should substantially reduce my endurance activity foot pain and keep my toes in check (thus also reducing blisters and itchiness).

Getting used to them has been a bit of a process. It no longer feels like I am walking on a football. I have managed a couple of longer walks in them. Now I just have to try some more sustained activity and maybe even some running and see how I do. Fingers crossed for a multi-day hike next year. What’s that? One thing at a time? Fine. But don’t expect me not to think bigger. 🙂

A sidenote: it may not be a good idea to read an orthotics diagnosis sheet out of context. Mine had some language that I didn’t understand and when I googled it (I should know better), I was bombarded with frightening images of clubfoot at its most advanced (you’ve been warned). I spent a couple of hours thinking the guy forgot to tell me I have clubfoot before reasoning that I  more likely had the mildly understated version of things that if much more pronounced might be called clubfoot.

November 28, 2010 - Posted by | Brackets, Childhood Complaints, Hiking | ,

3 Comments »

  1. Happy feet.

    Comment by Katie Chipman | November 28, 2010 | Reply

  2. Hooray for validation and vindication!! I hope you adjust to your new orthotics right quick and enjoy many a hike in them. After getting my custom orthotics (about 5 years ago), I couldn’t believe I ever hiked without them before. Seriously. Now all the crying in Alaska makes perfect sense! 🙂

    Comment by Dana | December 1, 2010 | Reply

  3. […] I will make public confessions and other personal revelations on my blog when I feel like it. I don’t need no stinkin award to bribe me into doing it. Not that […]

    Pingback by Please, Let me do the Honours « Waste not, want more | April 5, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

