Waste not, want more

No variations on a theme.

200 Episodes is a Drop in the Productivity Bucket

I cannot tell a lie. The past 3 months have been … unpleasant. And it’s not over yet. [She says as tax snarls at her back, teeth gnashing and saliva swinging (tax can be a nasty beast)]. Aside from the usual difficulties of a scholarly semester, which aren’t quite as bad, at least for me, as for some of my compatriots – I do actually like it, I’ve had some additional set backs. Health, career, extracurricular, and overall mood have not been at their best. I’ve eaten way too much that came into my house the same way it went into my mouth (takeout can be the devil) and been virtually unable to exercise (not because of time). But the point is not the sob story of the last few months that will of course get better.

What I’ve learned is that I have developed very limited means of seeking solace. Being unable to exercise, and finding social interactions unpleasant when I’ve got nothing nice to say, I turn to my partner, good soup, and nostalgic television. I am not so much astonished as surprised at my own ridiculousness to say that when I was sick, when I was winding down before bed or when I was otherwise seeking comfort I turned to one of America’s favourite families.

Seriously. Why I am comforted by syndicated shows I watched as a kid is beyond me. I find present-day sitcoms annoying for all of their canned laughter and forced obviousness. The old ones have all the same failings (except Roseanne, which had no issue being atypical and awkward on a regular basis). I could probably blame it on my TV childhood, but I don’t know if that’s exactly it either.

The Point? I have watched the entire 8 seasons of The Cosby Show in 3 months. All of it! Well, everything available; there are portions of about 6 episodes that are not available online in Canada. To be fair, half of this happened while I was sick and couldn’t really do anything else but I don’t think I have ever engaged in such a horrendous use of downtime. Don’t get me wrong, there’s a lot I love about the Cosby Show, it could be elitest and ridiculous sometimes but there are many great moments and fun to be had. And how many prime-time TV shows talk in depth about young women getting their first periods, the March on Washington, or Shakespeare? But I am no less inclined to get depressed after a bout of TV then I used to be. There’s no winning.

This is the part of the post where I insert a clip but since I just wasted another 20 minutes not finding what I’m looking for and I can smell the odious breath of tax, I’ll leave it at that.

April 8, 2011 - Posted by | Bad TV References, Brackets, Irritated, Law, Self-reflection

5 Comments »

  1. Where did you find the Cosby Show on the internet? Be warned, however, if you provide this information to me Walt is going to be neglected for the next six weeks. I still want it though.

    Comment by Cheyenne | April 8, 2011 | Reply

  2. I’ll let the proper authorities worry about Walt’s safety.

    This is where it gets ugly. The “best” way to do it is to visit http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cosby_show_episodes. Then search each episode on youtube. Seriously, an American after my heart posted almost every single episode. I couldn’t find any of the “unavailable in Canada” ones via other means.

    Comment by Rose | April 8, 2011 | Reply

  3. I love that you watched The Cosby show.. and I also love that you still feel like poo after indulging in it(aka: sitting on your ass for long periods of time). You’ve always been that way.. remember I am the one who grew up with the screen and actually LOVED it :). YOU need to give yourself a break for having this down time that you have no control over. Breathe. Cheese and Flexing.
    ps. I’m happy you are finding solace in something Rosey.

    Comment by Katie Chipman | April 8, 2011 | Reply

  4. I’m sorry to hear that you haven’t been well– I didn’t realize that you’ve been sick or otherwise incapacitated. 😦

    I will admit this here: I have never seen EVEN ONE episode of the Cosby Show. We were stuck watching drivel like Full House in my family…

    Comment by Dana | April 8, 2011 | Reply

    • Not to worry, I caught the Full House sadness too, but that one has not lasted into adulthood. As for me, I was (undramatically but stressfully) sick in January and my body is in utter revolt over time spent in a chair. You know the different but same drill. Thankfully nothing more than that 🙂

      Comment by Rose | April 8, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

