Waste not, want more

No variations on a theme.

Anemones are my Shiny Happy People

Like R.E.M (the band, not the sleep stage), I too have a work for which I am most famous. And by “work”, I mean blog post, and by “famous”, I mean less completely unknown. People don’t tend to pine away in the hope of being remembered for some embarassing/non-representative/unimpressive moment in their lives. Some would rather be known for their body of work. Some would rather not be known at all. Some, of the 15 minute of fame variety I’m thinking, don’t mind a bit.

  • Drew Barrymore will always be the cutie from ET and the subsequent poster-child for everything you don’t want to happen to your child actor

Courtesy of hecklerspray.com

It’s a little silly to write about this at all given how little traffic my blog gets, but I just can’t get over this weirdness. I can’t say phenomenon because that word conjures a notion of something that actually matters. I have no illusions of grandeur. This does not matter. I know I’m a drop in the river of creatures.

But I find this interesting all the same. At some point, google and my blog post on the word “anemone” became very close friends. While that post was fun for me and all, it’s not really anything to write home about. It certainly represents no particular authority about anemones. However, 43% of all views of my blog (excluding the homepage) have been of that “cash” cow, the anemone! I’m not actually bitter about it. I’m more flummoxed than anything. The wonders of the internet world.

R.E.M. said goodbye yesterday, announcing their official breakup after 3 decades of goodness. I have an attachment to R.E.M. rooted in my 13-year-old discovery. Here’s to you Berry, Buck, Mills, Stipe:

September 22, 2011 - Posted by | Bad TV References, Brackets, Wild Animals | ,

5 Comments »

  1. Isn’t it strange what gets a lot of traffic? I have a semi-pathetic poem called “Where the Tongue is Attached” that gets LOTS of traffic from folks googling “hunger.” Weird!

    Sorry to hear you are not getting the traffic you deserve. Just be patient. You write well, so the traffic will eventually follow.

    I love your blog!

    Kathy

    Comment by Kathryn McCullough | September 22, 2011 | Reply

    • You are so sweet! The rational part of me doesn’t mind much really – we can’t all be stars :). The “other” part minds sometimes.

      Comment by Rose | September 22, 2011 | Reply

  2. Frick I miss you.

    Comment by Katie Chipman | September 22, 2011 | Reply

  3. Hahaha. It’s funny (in a not-so-funny) way to figure out where/why our blogs get the most traffic. Anemones?? Who knew!

    I love your blog, too, and I’m happy to get this chance to catch up on some of your older posts. I miss you!

    Comment by Dana | September 24, 2011 | Reply

    • I find it so interesting and am really glad you’re getting a chance to catch up – and on a Saturday at that! The end is nigh.

      Comment by Rose | September 24, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

