Waste not, want more

No variations on a theme.

California Part 1: the central coast

Being masochistic and heat-hating, we continued a lengthy drive from Salt Lake City to Las Vegas by driving all the way to the outskirts of Los Angeles. This meant we managed about 690 miles or 1,100 kilometres in a day. Next up? Coastal life was on the menu, from Lompoc to Salinas along the coast.

Still recovering from desert punishment, I was mildly perturbed (steaming mad) when I missed the “Welcome to California” sign and got only this:

I am Canadian. Cacti crack me up. Especially cacti that look like fraggles.

My interest in the law had little to do with how cool this courthouse in Santa Barbara was:

I can only dream that this light actually lights up when court is in session:

Thinking optimistically that I would be keen to cook vegetables on the road, I could not wait to hit the famous (overcrowded) farmer’s market in San Luis Obispo:

And who knew roasted corn had so many condiment (ewww) options?

Eventually we made it to William Randolph Hearst’s castle and ranch to see what it’s like to be rich, love art and cultural objects, and be crazy. These are just a couple of the dozens of ceilings he collected. L’il ol’ me didn’t know you could collect entire ceilings, walls, or fireplaces.

If I had my own movie theatre, I guess I’d have something like this lighting the way:

One of hundreds of statues contemplating nakedness:

or contemplating a visit to a roman bath:

Getting in touch with my Mediterranean roots, except not really:

Next stop, off the ranch, I managed to catch an elephant seal in something other than the “I’m dead” position. I wish you could see how they move. Imagine jello doing the worm.

One of the many views at Julia Pfeiffer Burns State Park

And finally, the requisite crazy coastal bridge with fog coming in or out, as it did most of the day. This, of course, has nothing on the upcoming Golden Gate fog.

Next stop: Yosemite!

September 28, 2011 - Posted by | Minor American Roadtrip, Photography, Travel and intrigue, Wild Animals | , ,

5 Comments »

  1. Wow, what stunning photos. And that ceiling–jeepers creepers! I had no idea entire ceilings coud be collected either, maybe because I’m just not rich enough. Alas. Can’t wait to read about Yosemite.
    Kathy

    Comment by Kathryn McCullough | September 28, 2011 | Reply

    • Phew! I felt like I was alone on that whole ceiling thing! And thanks so much for your photos complement – it makes taking them a little more enjoyable!

      Comment by Rose | September 28, 2011 | Reply

  2. good pictures and interesting website.

    Comment by Guide Bobby Fleury | October 4, 2011 | Reply

  3. Hmm… I’m going to have to start collecting ceilings, too. Ceilings and SOULS.

    Comment by Dana | October 26, 2011 | Reply

    • I recommend getting a bigger warehouse. I don’t know how big those souls get.

      Comment by Rose | October 27, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

