Waste not, want more

No variations on a theme.

California Part 3: lived myth

The trip from Yosemite back to the coast (Monterey) was mostly uneventful. Mostly:

Not an event exactly, but warranted u-turns and picture-taking

Once we reached Monterey, and thereafter, I was no longer in completely uncharted territory. I felt so veteran, so in touch with being a tourist in California.

Therefore, having spent a total of 12 days in California in my life I am qualified to write as a California know-it-all. In my presumptuous Canadian fashion, I’m about to tell you what California is. Conclusively. No really. I’m positive I understand it all. By “all” I mean the coastal portions along the remote, harrowingly winding roads of the number 1 highway, with grazing cattle, crazy post offices, and pavement known only by those who spent way more time in the car than, well, anywhere really. Ready to learn?

California stings

Monterey Bay Aquarium lion's mane jellies

California educates

California  mystifies

Seahorse magic

California emancipates

California inspires fashion

California thrills

Santa Cruz beach carnival along the boardwalk

California disappoints

In my carousel inexperience and excitement, I picked a dud horse

California nourishes

Yummiest store ever with reasonably priced foodie options of all kinds

California goes under cover

I promise, it's the Golden Gate

California glamourizes

California hollows

Drive through a tree? Check.

California ensconces

The hospitality of ancient wood

California awes

Looking up a lightening scar

California dominates

California ends

Finally someone else taking a picture of a state sign

I can’t say much for the urban pulls of California. Seascapes, rolling hills, rock formations, and endless remoteness bowled me over. For a state with so many people, there’s a heck of a lot of space to just be. I am grateful for the utter miracle that is the expanse of undeveloped, or little developed coastline. Shh. Don’t tell anyone.

October 6, 2011 - Posted by | Doing it the hard way, Minor American Roadtrip, Photography, Travel and intrigue | , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. How fun, Rose! And the size of that tree you’re hugging–jeez! Do you know California, or what? This is a great post——— And I love the title, too.
    Kathy

    Comment by Kathryn McCullough | October 6, 2011 | Reply

    • I’m still not convinced I can wrap my head around the size of that tree. They’re so impossible to photograph! So glad you like it.

      Comment by Rose | October 7, 2011 | Reply

  2. My fave is “California disappoints”. Hahahaha!!! You know I love that cheeseburger pop art, too.

    Comment by Dana | October 30, 2011 | Reply

    • Who knew there are horses that don’t go up and down?

      Comment by Rose | October 30, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

