Waste not, want more

No variations on a theme.

Woe is Blog

Dear Readers,

The time has come for me to admit a problem.

I am halfway done my semester and about 10% done all the work I will have to do to be finished. (insert English alarm bell sounds here). That’s a bad thing. Not unusual, but bad. A huge paper for a professor I really respect, a large-ish assignment and 3 exams in classes I have done almost nothing for loom large. I have been at my most distracted, no thanks to my rejuvenated blogging and blog-reading effort. I am burnt out. There are a million ways to be ineffective. However, many of them involve the computer. Things I’m not supposed to be learning are just so very interesting. This is difficult when work also involves the computer.

I realize these are privileged, poor educated self types of problems. I am a truly decadent whiner. I can only hope to be a more useful and less self-absorbed being in 6 weeks. Right now it’s all I can do to keep fed and watered.

So I’m bringing some new rules into effect. These rules are boring and you don’t need to know about them, except that if I tell you I am more likely to be accountable. So here you go, lucky for you.

1. I am only allowed to blog twice a week (Mondays and Thursdays me thinks, but don’t hold me to it) between now and December 16th. 😦

2. I am only allowed to read and comment on people’s blogs as well as check for responses to my comments three times a week (Monday, Thursday, Saturday?).

3. The only other time I am allowed to sign on to wordpress is to respond to comments. (eep) I can do this whenever (quickly, without looking at other tempting items).

Please forgive my lower level of blog-ocity.

Sincerely,

Rose (the brain weary)

P.S. Even after this period is over, I am going to have to determine some sort of blog boundary. While I think it’s fabulous to indulge in something I enjoy so much, I have to find a better balance than losing myself in people’s blogs and random Internet searches for two hours a day every day for eternity. Learning is good but so is not sitting in a chair. Wish me luck!

October 28, 2011 - Posted by | Doing it the hard way, Irritated, Self-reflection | , ,

10 Comments »

  1. Gosh, Rose, I so understand your struggle. I, for one, will notice if you post or comment on anything I write except on the designated days. Focus on your classes and know we will still be here for you after Dec. 16th.
    Hugs,
    Kathy

    Comment by kathy | October 28, 2011 | Reply

    • I suspect we’re not alone on this one. And, in my defence, today’s blog reading is for tomorrow (Saturday). No more until Monday I promise 🙂

      Comment by Rose | October 28, 2011 | Reply

  2. Good luck Rose. I suggest you schedule your days by hours, focusing on one thing and one thing alone for each hour block. In the end, you’ll probably find you can juggle more that way and still have time for things you enjoy.

    Comment by Lisa Wields Words | October 28, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks, Lisa. I really like that idea. Now for implementation!

      Comment by Rose | October 28, 2011 | Reply

  3. Good luck, Rose! I’m still catching up on your older posts, so this new schedule will give me some more time to make headway. 🙂

    Comment by Dana | October 29, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks – but please don’t torture yourself on my account! 🙂

      Comment by Rose | October 29, 2011 | Reply

  4. Understood, and I have to thank you for letting ME distract you in such a selfish way. I loved every minute of it.
    Be good and get that nose in your “books”.

    Comment by Katie Chipman | October 29, 2011 | Reply

  5. […] written some about a lack of focus and motivation. It should come as no surprise that when I got a freecycle email at 10pm on a Wednesday announcing […]

    Pingback by Putting the Freak in Freecycle – a Halloween special « Waste not, want more | October 31, 2011 | Reply

  6. Only allowed to blog twice a week? Gah! I’d die! Seriously though, Good Luck to you Rose 🙂 Have a great day!

    Comment by TheIdiotSpeaketh | November 1, 2011 | Reply

    • As far as that’s getting me. I cheated today and looked at people’s blogs because I did not have the energy to even write an email, let alone do homework. So weak!

      …and thank you!

      Comment by Rose | November 1, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

