Waste not, want more

No variations on a theme.

How Did I Get Here?

All in a day. There’s something to be said for breaking routine. There’s something to be said for keeping it.

Listening, absorbing radicality from people who make time worthwhile. Sensing. Finding warmth. Can I?

Family moment, cat on chest. Unwilling to budge. Warming. Being warmed. Comfortable.

How did I get here?

Cold. Stranger holding dirty cukes in a windy vessel house. Drug busts and politics. Friend nowhere to be found. Where am I?

Too early. Waiting. Me and a bouncer. Fast friends. Working to not disturb the other’s silence. Look away. No friend in sight. Be warm, be warm. Who am I?

Inside a hallway bar. 1 of 6 tables along the wall. Just me. Sesame St. t-shirt. 5 other people. No friend in sight. This is new. It’s not me. It’s fun. It’s fine. Who am I? Bartender brings me a water. What service!

How did I get here?

The payphone search reqires a multi-lateral meeting. Friend arrives before talks break down. Vans, banks, chats, and chance encounters. Speechless.

Dancing                             Dancing                          Dancing

Parked in a dark driveway. Back at the vessel. Trespassing? Friend disappears a moment. Things bad movies are made of. Unsafe? Unusual. Un-me. Uneventful.

Cold onion rings out of tupperware. Scribbling away in bed. Nausea. Onion rings? Another late night? Drinking water does not warrant the onion rings.

How did I get here?

Blessings and oddities. Oddities that may be blessings.

November 3, 2011 - Posted by | Community, Self-reflection, Travel and intrigue | , , , , ,

7 Comments »

  1. Interesting take on a day in the life. I liked this, the choppy movement from one thing to another could be distracting but it doesn’t seem to be that way here.

    Comment by Neeks | November 3, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks so much for the comment. I especially appreciate it since posting this made me really uncomfortable. I did find it too choppy and stared at it forever trying to think of different ways to tackle it. I decided to post it despite disliking it.

      Comment by Rose | November 3, 2011 | Reply

  2. Different than usual writings Rosey.. but I love it.

    Comment by Katie Chipman | November 3, 2011 | Reply

  3. I think the disjointed, choppy movement is precisely what makes this work. It seems to me, I rarely like what I write when trying something new. Well done.
    Kathy

    Comment by Kathryn McCullough | November 3, 2011 | Reply

    • You’re probably right. The unfamiliarity IS jarring. But I’m glad you thought it worked!

      Comment by Rose | November 3, 2011 | Reply

  4. I really like this – conjures up images of a lonely, cold night. Something I’m sure we all can relate to at some point!

    Comment by faultlessfinish | November 9, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks! It was a very mixed bag day with both warm and cold, cold moments. Clearly, it left me unsure how to express myself.

      Comment by Rose | November 9, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

