Waste not, want more

No variations on a theme.

Unsettled and other Tales of YIKES

Things are a little unsettled over here in my neck of the woods. Good news, weird goings on, and the usual impending doom mean I’m all a flutter, quivering like butter. The wind mocks my inward state.

 

When every utterance makes your heart jump

but not with romance

and when your stomach sinks

at the sight of entrance

is it selfless concern

or self-preservation?

when your imagination runs wild

and you question your safety

are these unfair assumptions

or animal responses?

when it’s not about you

but you is all you know

the fear of tongue-lashing raises tension so high

collective avoidance

or unified support?

Watch the plaster come off

let it crumble

patch it back hastily, deficiently

or turn away

… hope it stops.

November 24, 2011 - Posted by | Mr. Lonely, Self-reflection, Writing | , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. Love the poem, Rose, and really love the title–so great–so perfect! Hope your weekend is going well, my friend. I’m trying to catch up on my blog reading now that Thanksgiving is over.
    Kathy

    Comment by Kathryn McCullough | November 26, 2011 | Reply

    • Aw, thank you, Kathy! I hope you enjoyed Thanksgiving. I’ve started the countdown to freedom – 19 days.

      Comment by Rose | November 26, 2011 | Reply

  2. This is beautiful. Hope you had a nice Thanksgiving!

    Comment by lifeandothermisadventures | November 26, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks! I’m in Canada, so no Thanksgiving, but I did have an awesome meal and some fun.

      Comment by Rose | November 26, 2011 | Reply

  3. I’m keeping my fingers crossed for a more settled feeling for you, Rose. At least a beautiful poem came out of your current state, though! 🙂

    Comment by Dana | December 3, 2011 | Reply

    • Thankfully, I’m feeling much better than I was that day. Just 6 more days…!

      Comment by Rose | December 4, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

