Waste not, want more

No variations on a theme.

Temporary Surfacing

At the risk of sounding like I think that making an appearance on my blog is equivalent to washing up on shore after the sinking of the Titanic…I’m back! Sadly, I suspect, I’m not actually back, but am pleased to visit.

Reasons for my absence?

  • I’m busy. Soooooo? Apparently I’m busier than before to knock the blog off the to-do list.
  • I’ve made other priorities. Like? When I’m not working I’m no longer on the computer. I spend almost no time on it at all, for better or worse. In some ways this has been freeing. I did a great deal of spring cleaning, cooking, getting rid of stuff (it’s probably creepy how much I’ve been enjoying this), visiting, buying much-needed household appliances, and other fun things.
  • I’ve been avoiding my blog. The longer I wait the harder it is to come back. But why?
  • Because at least 50% of my blogging fun comes from reading other people’s blogs. I feel like a hypocrite for writing and hoping people will read mine when I’m not reading theirs. I know it’s not exactly a formal agreement, but it takes the fun out of it for me. With so little time to blog/read blogs, it’s been easier to do neither.

So, while in the constant search for blog balance, which I obviously haven’t found in the last three months, I will continue to mull over how I can make this work for me, once I have a little more time to actually

The hardest part? I was finally getting to a place where I was happier with my blogging and the community I was enjoying. I’m saddened that I’ll have to work up my energies and my knowledge of what’s going on with people again.

I am, of course, making choices. I’m grateful that the choice is mine. Right now it feels right to avoid the computer so I’m going to go with that for now.

This blog will now return to its regularly scheduled writing avoidance and denial for the short term. To those of you still holding on for the ride, thanks for your tight grip. I hope you’re all well.

April 18, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized

4 Comments »

  1. Huzzah to temporary surfacing! I totally get the absence, both from blog-reading and blog-writing. Guess what, though? People understand. It’s hard to believe, but there actually *are* more important things in life than catching up with others online. Like buying much-needed household appliances. You know!

    We have missed you but appreciate the peek in. Kathy from Reinventing the Event Horizon was FP’d yesterday and today… I think that pretty much sums up what’s new. 😉

    Comment by Dana | April 18, 2012 | Reply

    • Thanks so much, Dana. I agree that people understand. I mourn what I miss out on and what I’m not there to “witness”, more than anything, as well as the loss of my writing outlet. Also, thanks for the heads up about Kathy, I had intentionally not looked at FPs so I didn’t go down another rabbit hole.

      Comment by Rose | April 18, 2012 | Reply

  2. Yes, yes, yes–people really do understand. And those of us who really love your blog and what you give in each post and comment, when you can, we are simply excited to hear from you whenever. Sometimes a periodic visit is a really good thing–as then folks REALLY appreciate it when they hear from you.

    Keep doing exactly what you need to do for you, dear Rose!

    Hugs,
    Kathy

    Comment by Kathryn McCullough | April 19, 2012 | Reply

  3. Kathy! I drafted my response to you in my head therefore convincing myself I’d already responded – haha! Thanks for your message. Your warmth travels as always. Take care!

    Comment by Rose | April 29, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

