Waste not, want more

No variations on a theme.

Flummoxed by a Flamingo

I was flamingoed today.

This is not like being pantsed. In fact it is a modest honour. It warms my heart and makes me smile like only small but generously given moments can.

If I’ve got this right, Kana has been blogging with WordPress for about a month. With a blend of self-awareness and perspective, Kana’s Notebook has an incredible number of dedicated followers invested in what she has to say, including me. Grateful for the community she’s found, Kana decided to give a little back today surprising some of her commenters with a virtual “flamboyance of flamingos” on their cyber front lawns. I was lucky enough to be included. See:

Proof positive

I am of course, honoured to have registered at all on a busy and prolific blogger’s radar. I am even happier Kana affirmed that there is at least a little value to me procrastinating about schoolwork by losing myself in the lives and words of others.

I’ve been struggling to figure out how I can pass the love along. Will the exercise seem insincere since I don’t have many commenters to choose from, and three of four existed in my life pre-blog? Will my post be a horridly narcissistic caricature of a proper post? Do I have the energy to acknowledge this gift without sounding like an effusive ding-dong? Why can’t I just accept that I’m a ding-dong? As you can imagine, this can spiral.

But Kana gave me the flamingo to recognize and make merry, so I will do the same.

  • To Katie Chipman of Turning Another Page, who is one of my very oldest friends (i.e. pre-kindergarten), thank you for supporting me unconditionally in all my written words, “LOVE”ing everything, reminding me to breathe and always being you.
  • To Dana of zonapellucida, thank you for following through thick, thin, and crazy; for being my only subscriber for- (what felt like) ever; for paying me any attention at all once you hit the big time :); and for giving me the great honour of being nominated for an award I was ENCOURAGED to refuse.
  • To Kathy of Reinventing the  Event Horizon, you are the most dedicated commenter I’ve had since you came on board. Your comments always make me laugh, feel less alone, and drape me in warmth all at once. With stories and writing like yours, I feel pretty darn lucky you take the time to stop by, let alone comment.
  • To Cheyenne of Happiness Like Bread (still up, but not active), your comments are seldom but always considered and thought provoking. Though I can picture you appropriately rolling your eyes at most of my ridiculousness (prime example right there), you touch base anyway and always give me real food for thought. A rare gift. *post-edit: Cheyenne’s now back at The Bee Loud Glade. I am overjoyed.

There. Have I made everyone want to vomit yet? Anytime Kana wants to give me lessons in how to be heartfelt without being even mildly nauseating, I would sign myself right up. Clearly I have some distance to go.

October 24, 2011 - Posted by | Community | ,

12 Comments »

  1. No, you have not made me want to vomit. You are saying heartfelt things. That is lovely, not grueous. (And do drop by and leave a comment, it makes people feel valued to be read and responded to.)

    Comment by Clare Flourish | October 24, 2011 | Reply

    • Welcome, Clare! Thanks so much for commenting here and liking my post. I’ve never been good at or comfortable with heartfelt (which Kana does so well), so it helps to have it affirmed!

      Comment by Rose | October 25, 2011 | Reply

  2. I love this idea! And not even mildly nauseating 🙂

    Comment by faultlessfinish | October 25, 2011 | Reply

    • I did too! I’ve never seen any acknowledgement of people for their commenting contributions and thought it was a great idea. Grateful you can keep your breakfast down comfortably.

      Comment by Rose | October 25, 2011 | Reply

  3. Oh, dear Rose, thank you, thank you thank you! I would say more but I’m commenting from my mobile phone, so this may be my shortest comment ever. Hugs to you—–
    Kathy

    Comment by kathy | October 26, 2011 | Reply

    • I need no thanks…really. Thanks, yet again, for taking the time. Enjoy the rest of your trip!

      Comment by Rose | October 26, 2011 | Reply

  4. I feel a little bit nauseous, but I just hate feeling feelings! I do love using the same verb to modify its noun!

    I’m a prolific blog reader, but rarely comment. I think my total is up to 4 blogs ever, with yours being the only repeat. I miss talking to you and really enjoy this format as conversation – especially since I hate the phone. Like I hate feelings.

    Since leaving teaching, I’ve entered into the cliche of feeling a bit isolated. I’ve been tempted to start a “regular” blog again for exactly this reason. However, in following the goings-on in the blog world for a few years now, I’ve been turned off by advertisements and the seeking out of “traffic.” Your blog, however, has reminded me that, just like real life, a smaller, more intimate group of people is probably, in the long run, much more fulfilling and sustainable. I might just go for it again!

    Comment by CheyenneVyvyan | October 26, 2011 | Reply

    • Also! Thanks for not switching over to tumblr. What’s with that? Do I hate tumbrl because I’m old or because it’s the scrapbooking of the digital world?

      Comment by CheyenneVyvyan | October 26, 2011 | Reply

  5. Feelings are awkward, it’s true. I’ve decided to accept cliche a little more, because being aware of and trying to avoid cliche is just as cliche as anything else. And the blog does help the sense of isolation, though it is hard to focus on the good and obsess less about traffic, if you’re me anyway. Sustainability helps limit me for sure though. Um, I don’t know what tumblr is and disrespect it’s spelling so I win the age contest. Finally, YES, blog again, blog again (no pressure)!

    Comment by Rose | October 26, 2011 | Reply

  6. Tears and LOVE 😉
    Ps: it’s easy to be me when you are you.

    Comment by katie chipman | October 26, 2011 | Reply

  7. Huzzah! I’m just getting around to realizing that I’ve been honored! Thanks, Rose!

    I wish you a tidal wave of new subscribers and commenters. You have great writing and wonderful things to say! 🙂

    Comment by Dana | November 10, 2011 | Reply

    • A delayed surprise is as good as any! Thanks so much.

      Comment by Rose | November 12, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

